ANDES (ArmazoNes high Dispersion Echelle Spectrograph) is the high-resolution optical-infrared spectrograph for the ELT.

The Principal Investigator of the instrument is Alessandro Marconi (INAF, Italy), the Project Scientist is Roberto Maiolino (Cavendish Laboratory, United Kindom), and the Project Manager is Paolo Di Marcantonio (INAF, Italy).



The ANDES Consortium is composed of 24 Institutes from 13 countries and are listed below (in alphabetical order, sorted by countries):

  1. Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte on behalf of its Board of Stellar Observational Astronomy (Brasil)
  2. Université de Montréal, on behalf of Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic and the Institute for Research on Exoplanets (Canada)
  3. Instrument Centre for Danish Astrophysics (Denmark) on behalf of
      a. Niels Bohr Institute
      b. Aarhus University
      c. Danmarks Tekniske Universitet
  4. Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS, France) on behalf of
      a. LAGRANGE, Observatoire de la Côte d’Azur
      b. LAM
      c. IRAP, Université Toulouse Paul-Sabatier
      d. IPAG, Université Grenoble Alpes
      e. LUPM, Université de Montpellier
      f. IAP 
      g. LMD, Ecole Polytechnique
  5. Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) (Germany)
  6. Institut für Astrophysik und Geophysik, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
  7. Atmospheric Physics of Exoplanets Department, Max-Planck-Institut für
    Astronomie, (MPIA) (Germany)
  8. Landessternwarte, Zentrum für Astronomie der Universität Heidelberg (LSW) (Germany)
  9. Thüringer Landesternwarte Tautenburg (TLS) (Germany)
  10. Universität Hamburg (UHH) (Germany)
  11. Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica (INAF), ‘Leading Technical Institute’ (Italy)
  12. Nicolaus Copernicus University (Poland)
  13. Instituto of Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço (Portugal)
  14. Centro de Investigação em Astronomia/Astrofísica da Universidade do Porto (CAUP) (Portugal)
  15. Administration Board of the FCiências.ID - Associação para a Investigação e Desenvolvimento de Ciências (Portugal)
  16. Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (Spain)
  17. Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC, Spain) on behalf of
     a. Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía (IAA)
     b. Centro de Astrobiología de Madrid (CSIC-INTA)
  18. Lund University (Sweden)
  19. Stockholm University (Sweden)
  20. Uppsala University (Sweden)
  21. Université de Genève on behalf of its Département d’Astronomie (Switzerland)
  22. Universität Bern on behalf of its Physikalisches Institut (Switzerland)
  23. The Science and Technology Facilities Council (United Kingdom), on behalf of    a. UK Astronomy Technology Centre
     b. Cavendish Laboratory & Institute of Astronomy,
     c. Institute of Photonics and Quantum Sciences, Heriot-Watt University
  24. University of Michigan (United States of America)


ANDES Organisation Structure (click to enlarge)




The Steering Committee is composed of one representative for each Partner

The Steering Committee is the ultimate decision-making body of the Consortium and the source of guidance and strategic decision.


The Appointed Executive Board members for the Phase B

The Executive Board provides regular advice to the PI and the Steering Committee  on all technical and scientific matters, in order to ensure the fulfilment of the scientific objectives of the Project.